Is Your Address Correct?
If we do not have your correct address or you are not sure, please renew through MyDMV
and complete an Address Change prior to your Registration
Renewal. If you are renewing for a business you must visit a DMV office. Renewals
completed through MyDMV will be sent to the address shown on your current Certificate
of Registration. A forwarding postal order is not sufficient to change your address
with the DMV.
Is Your Registration Early or Late?
You may renew online approximately 35 days before expiration or up to 18 months
after expiration. The system will automatically calculate any late fees. Please
note late fees are non-refundable. Registrations expire at midnight of the expiration
date listed on the Certificate of Registration.
Do You Have A Tax Exemption?
Exemptions must be used at the time of registration. NOTE: If the exemption was transferred
to you by your spouse you will not be able to use it online. Likewise, if your vehicle
is registered to a Trust you must visit a DMV office to use any exemption.
Current Nevada Evidence of Insurance?
During the renewal process you
will be asked to verify and update
the liability insurance record associated to your vehicle. Please have your Nevada evidence
of insurance card available.
I am out of the state. Can I renew online?
You can renew online if your vehicle does not require a smog check. However, we
cannot send Internet renewal documents to a temporary address. They will be sent
to the address on file.
If your vehicle requires a smog check and you cannot have it performed in Nevada,
you cannot renew online. You may renew by mail with an
Emission Control Residency Affidavit. See Registration Renewal Options
I can’t get a smog check because my vehicle is being repaired. What do I do?
If your vehicle will be fixed within a short time, let the registration expire.
When the repairs are complete, get a movement permit from the DMV before you drive
the vehicle on any public street, including driving it to an emissions inspection
station. A movement permit is not necessary if the same garage can perform the smog
Once the emissions inspection is complete, you would then renew the registration
in person at the DMV and sign an Affidavit of Non-Operation to avoid late fees.
You may renew online at this point as well but the system will charge late fees.
Late fees cannot be refunded.
If your vehicle will be non-operational for an extended period, you should surrender
the license plates. See Plate Surrender. You must surrender the license plates if you drop the
liability insurance on the vehicle for any reason.Failure to do so could result in an insurance suspension and subject you to applicable penalties.
I get an error message when I try to renew.
There can be several causes for this:
- You are renewing too early. Early renewals must be done in person at the DMV.
- Your vehicle requires a smog check. Nevada requires an emissions test every year.
- Your vehicle registration is suspended for a lapse of insurance coverage. You can
check this using the online Registration
and Insurance Status. Suspended registrations must be reinstated prior to
- Your registration may be suspended for other reasons, cancelled or placed on hold
for unpaid parking tickets or bad debt with the DMV. Follow the instructions in
the error message.
- If none of these apply, please email
us with your name, license plate number or VIN and an explanation of the problem.
I want to change my license plates. What do I do?
You must obtain new plates in person at the DMV. If you wish to avoid personalized
or specialty plate fees charged on your current plates, you should renew at a DMV Full Service Office
and exchange plates at the same time. Specialty plate fees cannot be refunded.
If fees are not an issue, you may renew online now and exchange plates later without
another renewal or emissions inspection. See our License Plates pages for instructions on obtaining the specific
plates of your choice.
I did not receive a renewal notice. What do I do?
If you are an individual please renew through MyDMV. You may check your address there and update it if necessary.
You may also choose whether to receive emailed or paper renewal notices. If you
are renewing for a business you must visit a DMV office.
Is there any convenience fee or extra charge for Internet renewal?
using DMV Online Services, you are helping us keep costs down and saving your own
time and money as well.