State of Nevada DMV Banner - Click for Home Page Seal of Nevada

Insurance Validation Processing - Verification Response

Thank you for choosing the Nevada DMV online insurance verification response transaction.

Please read the following information before you proceed:


The State of Nevada requires all vehicles actively registered to maintain Nevada liability insurance continuously, even if the vehicle is not being used.

Begin Here Verification Response

Enter the access number, vehicle ID number and plate information from your notice.

Access Number
Vehicle ID Number
Last 4 Plate
    



Privacy Notice

The Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) is committed to protecting the privacy of our customers. Information contained in DMV records are confidential under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act , Nevada Revised Statutes and the State of Nevada Internet Privacy Policy.

A person who knowingly obtains, discloses or uses personal information from a motor vehicle record, for a purpose not permitted under the Federal Driver Privacy Protection Act or Nevada Revised Statutes shall be liable to the individual to whom the information pertains who may bring a civil action in a United States district court.


IVP Data Mailer

Basic Insurance Verification Response Instructions

Step 1

Locate the access number, vehicle ID number and plate information on your Insurance Verification Card

Step 2

Enter the access number, vehicle ID number and plate information in the field(s) provided above.

Step 3

Click the Submit button.

Step 4

Follow the instructions provided in the following pages.


Blue Ball FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions

Can I renew my registration after I pay the reinstatement?

Yes, if you qualify you will receive instructions after the reinstatement to renew the registration online. To qualify, your registration expiration date must be within 35 days or less with no other sanctions. If you wish to change your address, name, use an exemption, or credits you must mail the applicable document(s) with your renewal and fees or go to your local DMV office.

How does the DMV know when I don't have insurance?

Insurance Companies licensed to do business in Nevada are required to validate the status of insurance policies. The DMV will electronically ask your insurance company if the vehicle has current liability insurance coverage.

What if I want to cancel my insurance?

You must cancel your Nevada registration before you cancel your insurance. If you sell the vehicle you must remove your plates; the license plates do not stay with the vehicle.

Vehicles must maintain a Nevada Insurance policy issued by an Insurance company licensed in the State of Nevada.

If you change your name on your insurance policy, you must also change your name on your vehicle registration and title. At least one name must be in common on your vehicle registration and insurance policy. You are required to report a change of address to the Department within 30 days to ensure you receive correspondence.

If you purchase new insurance, renew your policy, change insurance companies or the policy number changes and/or the insurance company name changes; you or your representative must report these changes to the DMV as soon as possible. You will have to report:

  • The insurance company's name.
  • The policy number must be entered exactly as it is on the card.
  • The effective date
  • The termination date or expiration date.
To report these changes you or your representative may:
  • Update online
  • Call a Nevada LIVE representative
  • Visit a DMV office.

Blue Ball  Contact Us

Department of Motor Vehicles
Nevada LIVE
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711-0800
(775) 684-4850 Reno/Sparks/Carson City
(702) 486-8696 Las Vegas Area
(800) 344-0483 Rural/Toll Free
(775) 684-4904 TDD (Hearing Impaired Only)